Monday, March 17, 2008

More EU nations to sign visa deal with U.S. next week

"Currently, only 15 EU member states enjoy the U.S. visa waiver. Citizens from Greece and 11 of the 12 newest states -- Slovenia is the exception -- are obliged to have visas, even for a short stay, when they travel to America.

Top justice officials from the EU and the United States discussed Thursday in Brdo, Slovenia, the issue of the U.S. Visa Waiver Program, which the EU hopes will allow all EU citizens to travel to America without a visa as soon as possible.

Washington's decision to conduct bilateral negotiations on the issue with individual EU member states, including the elements that are exclusively within the competence of the EU, was a matter of collective concern for the bloc."

Source: Xinhua